The Shovel

Australia's second favourite source of satire, after Today Tonight.

“Archbishop George Pell totally misunderstood my email” says Jesus

Jesus satireThe son of God, Jesus of Nazareth, issued a statement this morning claiming Sydney Archbishop George Pell misinterpreted the meaning of an email Jesus sent to Church hierarchy last month.

“When I said ‘protect the children and defend the innocent’ Mr Pell misread that as ‘protect paedophiles and defend your own self-interest’. He’s also confused the word ‘humility’ with ‘arrogance’ and he totally misunderstood what I meant when I said ‘suffer the little children’”.

The email communication – which takes the form of a newsletter – is sent by HQ to Church leaders each month, updating them on the latest news, social gossip as well as housekeeping issues.

When questioned further in an interview today, Jesus says he was ‘furious’ at the misunderstanding. “At first I thought it might’ve been a problem with my auto-correct, but I’ve checked and it’s not. So I’m really not sure how he’s got it so wrong. What I do know is it makes me look like an absolute tit. All along, right from the start, I’ve been about compassion and love – that’s my thing. Now he’s running around calling rape victims ‘complainants’ and implying, on my behalf, that investigating sex crimes is somehow a bad thing. WTF”.

Jesus said there could be repercussions. “Dad’s pretty pissed about this. And he’s not the kind of guy you want to see angry”.

Archbishop Pell was unavailable for comment.

Like this? Like The Shovel on Facebook. Or follow The Shovel on Twitter.

6 comments on ““Archbishop George Pell totally misunderstood my email” says Jesus

  1. thebearworksblog
    November 15, 2012

    Brilliant…and true

  2. thebearworksblog
    November 15, 2012

    Reblogged this on thebearworksblog's Blog and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  3. palmboy
    December 21, 2012

    “suffer the little children” indeed.
    Thanks for some comic relief regarding Cardinal Hell.

  4. Gabrielle
    December 21, 2012

    Jesus you need to call into the Vatican I think the furniture needs re arranging just like you used to do in the old days when you got pissed off with with those scumbags using your fathers house for all the wrong reasons.

  5. Pingback: “I’ll Be Better Placed To Do Nothing About Clerical Child Abuse In Retirement”: The Pope Explains His Reasons For Quitting « The Shovel

  6. Isobel
    July 17, 2013

    I just about had a coronary laughing. Where can I vote for best satirical website for 2013?

Post a comment ...

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2012 by in Entertainment and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to get the latest scoops shovelled to your inbox

Follow The Shovel on Twitter!

  • Looking for The Shovel? We've had our underscores surgically removed. We're now tweeting from @TheShovel See you there. 1 year ago
